Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been a recent trend where-in everyone is using internet to fulfil their needs by shopping online. Starting from groceries and even buying an airline ticket, shopping has become easy with the help of technology. However, purchasing through online portals has it's own pros and cons.

First advantage that people get from portals is variety. That is, different portals serve as one roof for stacking and showcasing goods from different brands. People can search for their preferred brand and depending on their likelihood can buy things accordingly.

Second advantage that one get's from online shopping is price. Due to increase in shopping portals from every type of industry, people can get huge discounts due to the competitive pricing of a product.

Thirdly, in a country like India where traffic jams are very common, shopping online is a blessing in disguise. People want to avoid the long traffic snarls and choose to buy things online. This also saves a country's precious resource, gasoline. Moreover, less traffic on roads means less pollution.

Adverse effect of shopping online is that one can be fooled to buy duplicate products since you cannot feel the item of your interest. One should always use renowned and professional shopping portals for buying things.

Another disadvantage that comes out of this ease of shopping online is it has become a private affair. For example, families no longer go out and shop together for their groceries or even when it comes to buying apparels.

In the end, as someone has said excess of everything is bad. So one should wisely use the technology enabled shopping portals. People should invest some time in going out together with their family for shopping.