car ownership is increasing so rapidly in past 30 years that cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. More poeple should use public transport. Do you agree or disagree?

Around the world, people are spending more time stuck in the traffic then there were few decades ago. I think adoption of public transport is necessary if cities want to function efficiently.

Undoubtedly, having the private car has its benefits. Most important of them all is convenience it provides. For instance, go from my home to shopping mall, it takes at least 10 to 15 minutes on my car. However, division if I use a bus I have to wait at the nearest bus stop for the bus to come.

Nevertheless, the benefits of using public transport far outweigh those of private cars. For instance, public transport makes efficient use of road capacity as a normal bus takes as much Road space as three cars, but it can accommodate 50 to 60 people travelling in that space as compared to 4-6 people travelling in private car.

Furthermore, public transport is a safer mode of transport for both passengers and as well as Road users. Since drivers of Public buses are employed and trained, they take their jobs professionally and drive within the speed limits and lanes. In my city, most people are afraid to walk or cycle even for short distance because sometimes car drivers end up driving very close to side lines in order to break free of traffic which is more likely encouraging traffic.

In conclusion, traffic chamber increasingly creating problems for cities. Using public transport would not only make City safe but also promotes smooth functioning of road.