As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign language is a waste of time? To what extend do you agree or disagree.

Rapid improvement in machine translation and speech recognition technologies in recent years appears to offer an easy way out. While some have a viewpoint that because of this new invention one needs to learn a foreign language as it is a mere wastage of time. This essay is in disagreement with the above-said notion because of the following explained reasons.

To begin with, the word meanings are always not the same, which means there is a problem of mistranslation problem. In short, word meanings do not match up precisely across languages. This has important implications for international businesses and relations, but it is something that is wrapped in a paper if we take translation at face value. Additionally, communication is much more than we say. Language plays a vital role but sometimes leftover is more important than what is said but the machine is not able to recognize these inferences as they can only translate syntax and word but cannot translate the context.

Furthermore, learning a foreign language allows an individual to experience different ways of thinking. It enables people to develop the ability to change the perspective of the ones on what is going on in any particular interaction and also make mindsets better. Research done by the University of the United Kingdom resulted that people who are able to speak multiple languages are 60 percent more creative than the people who are single language speakers.

To conclude, learning any foreign language is not any wastage of time. However, a computer cannot understand the actual message which is to be communicated as it lacks the ability, moreover, learning a new language helps to be more creative and increase the thinking capability.