Creative artists should always be given the freedom to express their own idea's (in words, pictures, music or film) in whichever way they wish. There should be no government restrictions on what they do.

To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion ?

Now a days, there has been a debate the creative artists should be given complete freedom to express their views in music, film, words and pictures. Also that the government should not interfere in their matter and give them complete freedom. I tend to disagree with this fact based on following reasons.

Firstly, the excess liberty can cause the society negatively and one cannot be allowed to do so. Obviously, government should describe the principles, guidelines and method for the artists to represent their creative work to the general public. For instance, if we consider the example of Pakistan’s print and electronic media owned by individuals. It can be witnessed that in the last decade or so, the government had not been involved or monitoring the affairs of media and gave them complete sovereignty. Resultantly, the culture of breaking news had emerged and threatening, horrifying and terrifying news have been watched by millions of people due to the race of ratings of media. Ultimately, people are suffering from anxiety and depression. Moreover, recent survey’s and reports of medical board of Pakistan are evident of the fact.

Secondly, if we delve in entertainment stuff, it could be witnessed that now a day’s mostly movies are based on fiction and animation and they are far away from reality. Furthermore, the young generation usually follows the stuff and tries to behave like the same. For example, a recent action and thriller movie “Fast and the Furious 8” has been released in Pakistan. It entails ridiculous movement of cars in a dramatic way to chase the antagonist. As a result, youth in Pakistan having cars tend to follow the same and numbers of car accidents have been increased.

In summation, I would like to reiterate my opinion based on the fact discussed supra. Nevertheless, government should define boundaries for artists to express the views as these should not end up in a destructing way for general public.