Crime rate, in most countries, is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. Why do you think that is? What can be done to reduce crime rate? Any advice or feedback would be appreciated.

It is generally believed that there are more cases of crime in cities as compared to the rural areas. There can be various factors that give rise to the criminal activities. In this essay, we will discuss the reasons behind the increasing crime rate and possible solutions to control this.

Primarily, urban areas are more populous in comparison to small towns or villages. Massive working opportunities and convenient lifestyle lead to the great deal of people move to the bigger cities. The chances of crime automatically increase where the population is high. For example, in India, the number of crime incidents reported in metro cities are extremely large as compared to the villages. Moreover, an easy accessibility to media and technology makes cities more vulnerable to crime. For instance, the case of cyber fraud and cyber bullying are rising at an exponential rate due to the overuse and mishandling of internet. Therefore, it can be said that the burgeoning population in urban areas has made a noticeable rise in crime.

Although there is a significant increase of crime rate in metropolitan area, there are also a number of solutions to control this. Firstly, strict punishment should be enforced on criminals, that will deter them to perpetrate any crime. Also, there should be more police officers patrolling the different areas. Increase in the police force on roads and streets will definitely put a restraint on crime.

To recapitulate, if there are numerous reasons that result in the higher crime rate in urban areas, there are also many ways that can ultimately maintain the security in big cities.