Despite the increased access to education, a significant number of people cannot read or write. What are the disadvantages and what action should the government take?

With the development of technology, residents have more opportunities to access different sources of information, which enable them to gain more knowledge. However, there is a fact that numerous people are still not able to read or write, which is one of ongoing issues in this modern society. This essay firstly will discuss the drawbacks of illiteracy and then it will provide solutions for the government.

The main problem is that it may be hard for illiterates to have a good career and improve social status. Nowadays, people are living in a knowledge-based society, in which employees are required to learn new concepts and gain the latest technological knowledge. Therefore, people without literacy skills will find it difficult to read and comprehend books. Without good education, people will have difficulty to do professional jobs and earn high income in the future, which can limit their social mobility.

Providing financial support and introducing online courses are solutions that the governments should take it into consideration. There is a fair amount of families that do not have enough money to bring their children to schools because the living cost keeps increase every year. Therefore, if all governments provided a financial support for all families, every child would have an opportunity to go to school. Besides financial matter, the governments should work with the schools to introduce more online courses because young generation nowadays have fully access to the Internet. Having said that online course and financial support from the government will definitely reduce the number of illiterates.

This essay discussed the disadvantages of illiteracy and provided several ideas, so the governments can consider those solutions in order to improving knowledge of their residents that will help their countries develop faster