Employer sometimes ask people apply for jobs personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Employers are quite demanding and at the same time are very sensitive regarding their employees. They tend to require more information regarding the likes and dislikes or strengths and weaknesses. Many employers judge the employees willingness to work for the particular organization. Many think that this is a valid observation while others do not agree. I will discuss the both perceptions below.

Employers require applicants to provide their personal information to justify their position for the relevant role. For instance, if the job is stressful and require late sittings then a married man or woman may not be compatible for the particular position as they have their own commitments back home. Nevertheless, it should not be forgotten that a married person could be more qualified and sensible compare to non-married and capable to handle the pressure in work time without any duress.

For other hand, some job specification require to have interest in sports or other recreational activities. For example, a company is dealing in football supplies, in this case, an employee should have some knowledge and concern about the football. While other believe that creating interest is not necessary and one who does not have much idea can work as competent as who does have and its mere discrimination on the face of interest and hobby.

To sum up, there is no particular thought about the right or wrong on asking the personal information. Employers raise their voice because they need employees who deem fit for the company while the people who confront this viewpoint claim that it is mere exploitation against them.