Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree.

discuss both views and give your opinion.

Providing personal details is a step of a recruitment process. Accordingly, it has controversially prompted a substantial proportion of people to have a vigorous debate whether it is beneficial or it is not relevant. In my opinion, I sincerely believe that while applying for a job, applicants should provide not only vocational experience but also personal details.

Firstly, one of the contingent reason is assisting the employer to select an appropriate candidate. For example, single applicants as a marital status have neither responsibilities nor compelling circumstances that impede them from travelling outside since many jobs nowadays require from their employees to travel on a daily basis. Hence, either married or single consider an influential factor. Furthermore. By providing information such as hobbies and interests, the company will organise a convenient event for their employees who share the same interest. As a result, the employer can create an ideal environment in order to not only improve teamwork but also collaborative skills.

One the other hand, in some cultures, providing marital status while applying for a job seems to be a violation of privacy. The recruiter could acquire either education qualification or vocational experience rather than single mother or divorced because they are afraid that these details might be disclosed. The candidates especially women, therefore, deter from giving an information related to personal life as it tends to be a private concern.

In conclusion, giving personal information when filling the job application, is still an argumentative topic. Nevertheless, I think that in order to select a qualified worker, all information including personal details should be provided.