Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and your opinion.

Sharing of personal information such as hobbies, marital status are beneficial or not is a matter of debate. Though some people think that it has relevance in many, others have different views regarding this matter. I think that general information like hobbies and interests can be shared in a professional sector, but information like marital status should not be disclosed as it has less impact on the organizations.

There is no denial that sharing personal information with the employers have many benefits. Information related hobbies and interests are used to organize cultural events in an organization, which help to minimize stress, workload of the employees. Moreover, workings in a team for fun activities bring closeness among employees. Apart from this, many jobs require a form of aptitude test that determines a person’s own characteristics. For example, a person with an analytical background might be interested in playing strategy games like chess. It helps to determine the recruiters to fit him to the analytical tasks.

However, the opposition put forward some convincing arguments. Asking information about someone’s relationship status may sometime create uncomfortable situation within the workplace. For instance, in a survey, which is conducted by the “Hindustan Times”, it has been observed that 50% of working women does not want to share their marital status because of ample of reasons. First, divorce women do not want to talk about their personal problems. Second, most of the companies prefer single women because they reckon that single women will work with more dedication and enthusiasm. In addition, an individual following a certain religion might be disqualified, even though his qualifications match the vacancy, on the basis of discrimination. Therefore, it creates an opinion-based outcome, which could damage the job in the long run.

To recapitulate, both of the aforementioned perspectives have merit. Nevertheless, I am of the opinion that hobbies and interest can be disclosed, but information related to marital status or religion could be remain undisclosed while applying for a job.