Experts say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with family and friends, whereas many now suffer from loneliness and health problems. What are the causes of this and what are some solutions?

It is a true fact that senior citizen becomes less physically active and decrease involvement with family leads them to in loneliness and severe health problems than past decades. This trend can be ascribed to a number of reasons and it must be addressed by definite actions.

The primary reason is that all adults in family are working. In other words, there is no one at home to take care of elders during daytime due to their employments. Every family member needs to earn to cover their expenses. As a result, during working hours no one available to support elders and they feel sadness due to minimal interaction with family.

Another clear reason is that lack of physical activity. To justify, there is the sedentary lifestyle of a senior citizen as compared to past days. Also, there is no companion with them, if they want to go to park for yoga and walking. This leads to lifestyle disease like diabetes, heart problems and so on.

A number of strong measures must be implemented to tackle this sensitive issue. The first solution is that the government should launch special community program from elder people to solve this issue. Program such as day nursing home and retired home, in which older people go there during daytime, when no one available at home to support, and spend time with their age group to avoid loneliness. This type of place also provides wellness services like yoga, meditation and so on and this will result in reduction of this situation. For example, a recent survey conducted by an eminent geriatrician David Won revealed that in Germany, there is 20% reduction in cases of lifestyle disease in senior citizen than last year due to implantation of day old-age home.

To conclude, there are number of reasons why older people suffer a loneliness and isolated lifestyle and it can be tackled by a number of remedies.