Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general.

It has been observed, over a period of time, that only a handful of individuals are able to give their time to hobbies and interests. This essay will be discussing the reasons or causes of this declining trend and lay some light on the possible outcomes.

To start with, life is cities has become very busy and fast. Be it an office goes, business man or a school going kid. Each one of them devote most of their time to their work or studies. Working professionals are mostly occupied in work and they spend 8-12 hours a day, or even more, in their office. To add to that, 1-2 hours per day must be spent to travel from home to work and vice versa. Businessmen are no different than a working professional. As far as children or teenagers are concerned, they spend nearly 8-10 hours in school. Other than that, they must also find time for homework, tuition, assignments and what not. For everyone, it is getting near to impossible to find a place for their hobbies in their tight schedule. Secondly, with the advent of online social network and internet, people's priorities have changed. Earlier, almost everyone used to indulge themselves in some physical activity or sports and pursue them as a hobby. Nowadays, it has become less fashionable to do so. People prefer to play the same games on their smart phones or gaming consoles. There is hardly anyone seen in the playground. Moreover, people prefer to spend time with themselves or even alone sometimes. Naturally so, because after a long working week, one looks forward to weekends to relax, rejuvenate and recharge themselves for the upcoming days.

But, these causes/problems will have a detrimental effect on people and on the society as a whole. As more and more people start to stay busy, they have started to develop long term physical as well as mental disorders. A recent study conducted by the Center of Disease Control, USA, states that if people keep repelling away from their interests at this rate then by the year 2035, the world will see obesity and depression becoming a famine. This will lead to unhealthy upcoming generations. Moreover, the society on the whole will start to disintegrate and as Dr. Stephen Hawking says "Mankind will live for only 100 more years" will cease to be known as a mere theory.

In conclusion, before our near and dear ones start to face its negative impact, we must go back to our roots and pick up the missing pieces. Its never too late to start practicing what you loved once.