First impressions are important. Some people think that doing well in interviews is the key to securing the position. To what extent do you agree?

In this ever changing materialistic and demanding world, our attitude and behaviour changes according to the person present in front of us. In this competitive age, everybody tries to make an everlasting first impression. Even though we may not agree to it, as a society we have become more judgemental and perceive our thoughts based solely on the person’s appearance. To say first impression is the last impression would perhaps be an exaggeration because one can correct their mistake. However, one will have to make a lot of effort to correct their fault, so why not try your best and create a positive first impression when going for a job interview rather than relying on other factors to get you over the line.

When going for a job interview, the person conducting the interview has numerous candidates in front of him/her all matching the eligibility criteria of that particular vacancy. During the interview, I will be at my most presentable and because of the fact that, I am in dire need of that particular post, I will create the best possible first impression. My appearance and body language will make me stand apart from other candidates. Numerous surveys have shown that people who take care about their looks and try to make a positive first impression are more successful in life. In professional life, a good first impression can open doors to many other possibilities. In the words of Andrew Grant “You never get a second choice to make a first Impression” so one should always try their best.

In the end, I would like to say that even though mistakes can be rectified, but not everyone gets a second chance in life. Life is unpredictable and we should be at our best at the first instance as if you may not be, you will have to work very hard till the next opportunity comes.