Health care should not be provided for free regardless of a person’s income. The health of a person is in their own hands and they should, therefore, be held accountable for that.

Do you agree with this opinion?

The shown statement reckons that because people should take responsibility for their own health government is not supposed to offer free health care for the citizens. This view is excruciatingly wrongheaded, I am strongly against it.

To begin with, there are various factors that affect the health of the person that is fiercely biased to accuse individuals of their health issues. Environmental problems, for instance, are harmful to personal health. A real-life instance is the gas leakage from the laboratory of Wuhan which led to the Corona Virus-19. In this case, it is the government who should be held accountable for the health of citizens rather than individuals. How could the government walk away from the responsibility to offer health care for the victims?

Furthermore, the fast development of capitalism, as well as corporate lobbyists meddling in legislation, has significantly reshaped the health, medicine and insurance industry, which unfortunately makes it incredibly expensive for the working class to access affordable health care. In fact, the health insurance company commonly abuse their information advantage over devastating patients, which usually them extra financial pressure to get reasonable insurance coverage. An outrageous example is a hedge fund manager purchased the patent of any effective Cancer medicine to raise the price from 100Rs. to 1000Rs., in order to make a fortune out of the suffering of patients. Therefore, the government as a lawmaker plays a crucial role in curb the greed of corporations.

Not to mention the basic role of government is to serve the wellbeing of its people regardless of their social classes. It is defiantly irresponsible for the government to avoid taking care of public health.