It is common practice for some students to take a gap year between high school and university in order to do charitable work abroad in underdeveloped countries.What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people of doing volunteer work?

There is a popular trend, nowadays, among the pupils who are passed out from the secondary education to volunteer in the humanitarian projects working in the developing country before they continue their tertiary schooling. There are both pros and cons for this current for the community as well as an individual. Following paragraphs will highlight these benefits and consequences.

On the one hand, there are some boons for this movement. Firstly, an under privileged area may get the skill set which would be unavailable otherwise which is very crucial for the development. Secondly, by living far from home they might confront with the situations which will get them the maturity and ability to stay alone with strangers. Finally, such selfless work is believed to be the means to increase the self-awareness and decrease the ego. Thus, apart from making the students sensitive to the local community, it serves as the mean to foster the cognizance.

On the other hand, there are some circumstances which may bring the curses with these blessings. The first point to make is that the expertise of the high-school passed person are not up to the mark which may deliver sub-standard work. Sometimes, they are not serious about the gravity of this philanthropy or may not pay attention and take it as just a way to weight their CV. Furthermore, if the agency by which they join the program does not provide proper knowledge of the customs and conventions, then a foreigner might accidently harm local sentiments. In addition to this, without any support volunteers may get frustrated and emotionally disturbed which may lead to deterioration of mental and physical health. Thus, if care is not taken, they may do something to the community instead of something for the community.

To conclude, increasing tendency to take a gap year for the volunteer work in the developing country brings new changes to improve the lifestyle of the masses and nurture the person towards the self-realization. But if a youngster is not sincere about the seriousness of the work, he may adversely affect not only the physical and mental health but also the culture of the nation.