It is generally accepted that families are not as close as they used to be.

Give some reasons why this change has happened and suggest how families could be brought closer together.

Include any relevant examples from your experience.

Socialization becomes a concern these days as it is believed that the technology isolates people and restricts them from socializing.

Firstly, if we consider the mobile phones and internet, these play an important role in separating families or even dividing each family member from their family. Today almost everything is available on the internet and we do not even have to step out of home to buy our groceries. In such case, people tend to check what is happening in their families by giving a phone call or browsing through social networks such as Facebook.

In addition, everybody's life becomes so busy and we find less time to spend with family. People run behind their targets at job to save some more money for their future generation. This leads to work overtime on weekends or holidays. Hence no time to think of visiting their families on a weekend.

Therefore, we can come up with a few solutions to make the families get together. For example, my husband and I planned our wedding in an off peak season so that all our relatives who live all over the world could attend it, which was successful. Likewise, people can at least try to attend family functions which will be a pleasant get together. Further, parents can use their children's school holidays to visit their grandparents and stay with them throughout the leave period. This will not only connect families but also help to get rid of the busy life and relax for some days.

In conclusion, if there is will there is a way. Accordingly, people should make an effort to allocate time for family get together. Lets not allow the technology or our machine life style to contribute in separating the families. Whatever said and done, in our older age it will only be our family who will look after us, not the money we saved or the latest computer we bought.