It has become easier and more affordable for people to travel to other countries. Do you think it is a positive or a negative development? Give your opinion and relevant examples from your experience.

Nowadays, the expenditure people need to spend on travelling abroad is lower and it is much easier to go to another country with the help of modern transport such as airplanes. I think this is a positive development.

There are tremendous advantages of this trend. For one thing, affordable and convenient trips to another country promote international tourism, which broaden travellers’ horizons. For example, it is the ever-decreasing price of airline tickets in China that has encouraged more Chinese people to travel abroad, getting them exposed to diverse customs, beliefs and behaviours. This could greatly expand visitors’ views. For another, tourism development has economic benefits to the arrived country. If travelling overseas becomes easy and affordable, there would be a surge of demand for associated products and services such as accommodation and souvenirs in the place that people visit, creating revenues for local companies. This contributes to the thriving of local economic development.

However, this trend also put some threats to the arrived country. Environment and ecosystem of local areas might be impaired if the amount of visitors is excessive. For example, without the ever-increasing visitors in the preserves in China, the birds, fish and other species would not have faced the risk of losing their habitats. However, this concern can be significantly reduced by reasonable regulations such as setting the amount limit for visitors.

The above analysis suggests that although there is a risk to the local area’s environment and ecosystem, the surge of tourism development stimulated by convenient transport and price-dropped airline tickets can generate loads of benefits to both local people and visitors.