It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. Do you agree that this is the main cause of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation?

Nowadays, youth crime is rife. It is believed by many that media violence is basically responsible for the teenager offences. This essay is in agreement with the above-mentioned notion and this essay will discuss the solution which can be put forward to combat the situation.

To begin with, firstly, children become more aggressive. The movies watched by the youth are mostly violent where the hero is the vestige of violence, even though he gets rewarded by society. In short, they get influenced by their character and try to imitate in real-life which in turn makes them aggressive in nature. Secondly, video games such as “Grand Theft” have deteriorated the situation as teenagers become self-centered and more prone to crime like theft, burglary, and many more. For instance, research in the USA has suggested that 80% of juvenile crime committed by the people who regularly watch violent movies and play violent games.

Imprisonment is often cited as the best way to handle this problem. However, in my point of view children should be allowed to watch television under the supervision of the parents and parents should limit television to 1-2 hours daily. In this way, parents can limit the risk of exposure to violence and teach their offspring how to interpret what they have seen. Apart from this, regular counseling from the physician should be there for the children who had a hard time in the past. This will help in dampening the accelerating juvenile offence.

To conclude, the media plays a significant role in increasing the violence among the teenager by making them aggressive and self-center, however, parents can become game-changer by limiting the television time and arranging regular therapy from the doctors.