Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often cited that if a person chooses to settle in a foreign country, he will face social and practical obstacles because of language. I strongly with this point of view and in this essay, I will discuss about this.

First of all, One’s social life could be homebred because of foreign language as he cannot communicate with his neighbor properly. For example, in a French-speaking society, French is preferred language of speaking. So a Tamil-speaking person will obviously face obstacles to talk with others. Secondly, cultural problem could be prevalent in some society to some extent. If an American comes to India and start to live like his own society that may not be possible. Because the social structure of India totally different from America.

Not only social problems but also practical problems are major problems in a foreign language speaking society. Firstly, finding a job will be a difficult for one if he wants settle in foreign language speaking society. In Quebec, for instance, French speaking people are preferred in the job sectors, so in that place an English speaker have to face lots of difficulties to secure his place. Even if he is potential, the recruiter will prefer that candidate who has no language problem with less potentiality. Another problem that occurs in schools when a child finds himself in a new place where the others are speaking in a language which is not known to him. It takes lots of time for him to communicate with his classmates and it becomes a psychological pressure for him in the long run.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that if the language of living place is foreign, it is must that it will create social and practical problems. From communicating with neighbor to finding jobs, everywhere it would be a problem and one has to face obstacles.