In many countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The growth of fast food industry has, without doubt, impacted on eating habits and health of many societies around the world. Diabetes, high-cholesterol, respiratory problems are on rise due to fatty and sugar rich foods. However, the question is whether higher tax would improve the situation or not.

From an economic point of view, higher tax might seem sensible. In countries such as USA, Australia and Britain, the healthcare system spends a large part of its budget on people with diet-related health problems. It could be argued that these people have caused their own illnesses because of their choice of food. In this case, why should they expect state to pay for their treatment? The tax could help fund the healthcare system.

However, we also need to consider which socio-economic group consumes fast food as main part of their diet. Statistics indicate that lower income groups eat more of this food than wealthier people. One possible reason for this is that fast food is cheaper than fresh produce. This is because many governments offer large subsidies to farmers who provide products for the fast food industry, such as corn, wheat and beef. Fruits and vegetables, on the other hand, are not subsidized. Research suggest that many families simply cannot afford to buy healthy food or pay higher taxes on fast food. For them, fast food is not a choice but a necessity.

In conclusion, imposing a higher tax on fast food does not seem to be the answer. If the government chose to do this, it would only lead to greater poverty and families facing further hardships.