Many crimes often related to consumption of alcohol. Some people think that best way to reduce the crime rate is to ban alcohol. Do you think this is an effective measure against crime? What other suggestions can you suggest?

In the last few decades, alcohol has become synonymous with crime. Strata of populace attribute alcohol as key ingredient for various criminal activities. However, they opine that banning alcohol is the most effective method to curb the ever-increasing crime rate. Obviously this is an efficient method to dampen the crime but certain other methods are adopted. Several other methods are discussed in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, alcohol is restricted from drinking by even doctors because it leads to loss of senses. When people become unconscious they are more prone to indulge in criminal activities. This is the primary reason drink and drive are prohibited in every country as it acts as a threat not only for the person who consumed it but also for the people around. The heinous crimes such as rape, murder, and theft are committed after the intake of hard drinks or drugs. For instance, the ban on alcohol in Bihar has decreased the crime rate by 30 percent. This reveals that banning the sale of alcohol has placed a significant role in decreasing crime.

The other important steps which can be taken are the government should establish a rehabilitation center where they can have counseling from the doctor who can help them in leaving the habit of drink. Furthermore, they should be given some vocational training in the center which could assist them in getting a job. Apart from this, the government should launch an awareness program where the negative impact of alcohol can be explicitly exposed to the public.

To conclude, ban on alcohol is a crucial step that can help in the dampening rate of crime. I believe that along with this step guidance from doctors and awareness campaigns can be other effective solutions that can provide better results.