Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they released from prison. What do you think are the cause of this? What possible solutions can you suggest?

It is most often noticed that most of the offenders are more likely to re-offend after getting demission from the jail. There are several reasons attributed to this behavior and ways to sort these issues are discussed in the consequent paragraphs.

To begin with, firstly, they get negatively influenced by the hard-core gangsters and criminals, instead of assisting them in becoming decent citizens. This is because a convicted person communicates with these gangsters who them, the more sophisticated ways of doing illegal actions. Additionally, the rude environment of the prison is also responsible for the change in the character of the person. Furthermore, after being released from jail they are less likely to be accepted by any employer for job, hence, left with no money and poverty which encourages them to re-commit the crime. For instance, a recent study in South India explained that around 76 percent of pocket pickers become murders after serving a prison sentence.

There are different ways for solving this problem such as the government should start vocational training programs in the prison which would help the people to grab the job after their release from prison. Furthermore, proper rehabilitation programs should be there and government authorities should have a regular check on the activities of the individual who is released from jail, in order, to make him less prone to crimes. For instance, the rehabilitation program started by the Indian government has given shocking result by lowering down the crime by 48 percent after proper rehabilitation of the released criminals.

To conclude, there are several reasons for re-committing crime after leaving prison such as lack of job, money, or environment prevailing in the prison. However, this issue can be solved by initiating vocational programs and rehabilitation programs which can reduce crime at a higher level.