Many people believe that countries should produce food for the whole population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Oxygen is quite important to live but without having adequate food it is impossible. Many of the food consumed in the countries are imported from thousands of miles away from where it is produced. Strata of the populace reiterate that nations should be self-sufficient in terms of food and minimize the food importation from other countries.

To begin with, firstly, the food which is produced in the other countries needs to travel a long distance and consume a large amount of energy and a large storage is required for storing the food before transportation. Apart from this, due to long-distance in the transportation, the perishable food is added unhealthily preservatives so that food can be saved from ruin. Moreover, as the foreign products provide a large number of choices to the consumers they dampen the sale of locally produced goods. For instance, the survey done by “The Time” reveals that tomatoes are more prone to deterioration hence, around 80 percent of the tomatoes are saved in the transportation only because of these preservatives.

Furthermore, locally produced food is fresh and at first hand with no added chemical with no risk to health. These productions increase the economic status of the country because local merchants and business are at a profit which in turn invest more in the economy and generate different new job opportunities for the people. The vegetation greatly depends on the weather and climate, hence, so countries cannot afford the food, therefore, they import more food. However, the government should impose the ban on the export of the product in which they are enough sufficient. For instance, India is self-sufficient in the production of the maze even though a large amount of maze is imported from America. The government should spend this money on research and development on how the quality of maze instead of increasing its import.

To conclude, local foods are free from harmful preservatives and are more cost-effective for consumer. In addition, the government should control the import of food that can be grown in their respective country to strengthen their local economy.