Many people believe that educational standards have declined in recent times, particularly in the area of literacy and numeracy.

The propaganda of falling standards of education is nowadays is a hot topic. It is reiterated by many people that nowadays, education standards are at decline, especially in the field of literacy and numeracy. In this essay, I will discuss the reason behind this problem and also suggest some solutions to solve this problem.

To begin with, the most important aspect which is missing in schools nowadays is discipline. Earlier teachers were well versed with power in order to create a disciplined environment in the school. The teacher used to give corporal punishment to the students who were not serious in their studies and create a mess in the class. This method has been banned because parents adore their children a lot and do not want them to be punished hard by their tutors. Therefore, the teachers are left with no choice but they are at apathy. Another reason is students are more attracted to non-academic subjects such as music, arts which distract them from main subjects and result in bad grades. The most overwhelming reason for this decline is education pattern that is followed by the government is quantity based not quality-based and most of the syllabus taught at the schools are outdated and irrelevant

However, some solutions can be followed, I believe that physical punishment should be there to control the behavior of the students and make them well-mannered. Additionally, the institute should focus on the main subjects as mathematics, science, and English, so that one should be enough capable of getting a job in later life. The subject’s books should be updated from time to time so that student should be aware of recent facts and figures and the government should penalize the schools which do not follow the new syllabus.

To conclude, I understand corporal punishment cannot be brought back even though, I think, it is the best method to curb this decline and outdated books should be eliminated from the syllabus and a new syllabus should be taught with updated knowledge.