Many people believe that formal “pen and paper” examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement.Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

In today's scenario, many people believe that written examination should not be the only criteria of ranking a student. I too agree, that, not only bookish knowledge, but also overall intelligence should be taken into account before accessing an individual.

Needless to say, in many countries specially India success is judged in terms of academic excellence. This starts at primary level and even at tertiary level, one is always concerned about the score / marks obtained in examination. This is primarily because our education system is formed this way. Moreover, this is the trend which is being followed. In almost every school, half yearly, yearly and quarterly examinations are being conducted. Thus ranking is according to the grade/marks achieved.

However, to overcome this there can be oral tests. Supposedly, one might not be good at grasping thus putting his or her thoughts on paper. In that case, he/she can verbally transfer their knowledge. Given this opportunity, one can widen his or her horizon while speaking and marking can be done accordingly. One more way is through practical sessions. More of practical and less of theoretical examinations can be taken. This way knowledge can be diversified.

To sum up, clarifying a person as successful or unsuccessful in academics should not only be based on written examination. Neither it will do justice to them nor to the society as a whole. Subsequently, other means of assessment should be incorporated in the system.