Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is most efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having fixed punishment?

In order to maintain the law and order of the society criminals should be given severe punishment as per the crime committed by them. Some people reckoned that fixing the type of punishment for each crime would be more effective rather others have a viewpoint that like reason, motive, and circumstances. In my opinion, the above-mentioned factor should be considered before giving punishment and this essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of fixed punishment.

To begin with, the first and foremost advantage of fixing the punishment will make the trail fast as the same punishment will be given to all the similar crimes. This will enhance the efficiency of the judgment. The judge only required to pronounce the verdict as punishment is already been in the law books. Furthermore, this will decrease the law conflicts as punishment will be consistent. For instance, the examination of sex of fetal during the pregnancy is prohibited but if any doctor is caught doing it, he will lose his doctor permit and will be sent to the jail for 10 years as per the law.

However, fixing punishment is not logical as human behavior is prone to changes as per the circumstances. Crime is not different, they only difference is in the situation and intention. For instance, one may murder the other intention in the greed of money rather than other committed the murder in order to save his life from the person. In the above mention example, both people committed the same crime but one has an illicit purpose but others done the same in his own defense. In this case, if both will be considered for the same punishment then it will be unfair for the latter. Therefore, it evident serious ethical issues may arise in case punishment will be fixed.

To conclude, in my opinion, the judge should consider the various factors which lead to the crime before going the final judgment. Moreover, fixing punishment does not make sense as circumstances may vary for a crime for two persons.