Many people prefer to travel by car rather than buses or trains.

Why do you think this happens?

What can government do to motivate people travel by buses or trains?

It is true that private cars have earned the reputation to become a popular mode of transportation. Countless users are using it instead of public transportation. What are the reasons behind it? This essay will discuss the causes of preferring to travel by cars rather than buses or trains and suggest some ways that the government could do to people to travel by buses or trains.

There are various reasons to prefer private cars instead of public transport. First of all, I think that comfort is the prime reason to have a car. In addition, opportunity to have a stress-free could be another reason because people have to wait for a long time for having a public transport. In India, for example, in the peak hours, bus travelers have to waste more than twenty minutes to have a bus bound to their destination. If any problem occurs on the road, they will have to wait more. All these are the reasons to have a personal car.

Government could launch numerous projects to encourage people to use public transport. Firstly, ‘Ten Percent tax rebate’ project might be a good option for the government to motivate its citizen to use public transport. If a person travels by buses or trains, he will be able to get that facility. Furthermore, imposing heavy tax on private cars might be a good option. For instance, in Korea, government has imposed heavy tax on luxury cars while it has also confirmed the availability of the buses and trains so that the general people would be able to get the benefit of it.

In conclusion, today people are more interested to have a personal car. In my opinion, the long wait for the public transportation and comfort of a private car are the main reasons of it. Government’s various initiatives like tax rebate or heavy tax on private cars could motivate people to travel by buses or trains.