Many people prefer to travel by car rather than buses or trains.Why do you think this happens?What can government do to motivate people travel by buses or trains?

It is a fact that countless people prefer to travel by cars instead of buses and cars. What are the reasons behind it? To motivate people to travel by public transport what government can do? This essay will discuss both of these questions

There are many reasons to use private cars. First and foremost, to save valuable time, many travelers use cars as waiting for buses or trains is a common scenario in many countries. For example, in India, buses or trains are delayed for more than thirty minutes during office hours whereas during normal hours, public transports are delayed for 15 to 20 minutes. Second reason for using car is comfort. Reservation of seats is not always possible in public transport. After long working hours, it is really very uncomfortable. Using a personal car is considered as a solution of it, therefore, people always like to use cars.

Under these circumstances, to motivate people to use public transport, government needs to take initiative which is different from usual. Firstly, “Yearly Income Tax Remission” project could be a good initiative. In the countries like USA, UK, Canada, this type of project is successfully implemented. If a person regularly travels by buses or trains, he can avail this opportunity. Another initiative might be effective is “Car Free Day” project. One day or two days in a week, the street will be car free so that people will be inspired to use public transport. All these different attempts can be used by government to motivate general people.

In conclusion, the essay discussed the reasons of using cars ignoring public transport. In my opinion, to save time and to have a comfortable journey, people are doing this. Government could change the situation by introducing projects like “Yearly Income Tax Remission”, “Car Free Day”.