Many people prefer to travel by car rather than buses or trains.Why do you think this happens?What can government do to motivate people travel by buses or trains?

It is a fact that countless people prefer cars instead of buses and trains as a mode of transportation. What are the reasons behind it and what government can do to motivate people to travel by public transport? This essay will discuss both of these questions.

First and foremost, to save valuable time, many travelers use cars as waiting for buses or trains has become a common scenario in many countries. For example, in India, buses or trains are delayed for more than thirty minutes during office hours whereas during normal hours it is 15 to 20 minutes behind. Second reason for using car is coziness. Reservation of seats is not always possible in a bus or train which is very uncomfortable. For the long journey, it is really difficult.

Under these circumstances, government needs to take initiatives which will inspire people to use public transport. Firstly, “Yearly Income Tax Remission” project could be a good step since it is successfully implemented in the countries like USA, UK and Canada. If a person regularly travels by buses or trains, he will be able to avail this opportunity. Another effective initiative is “Car Free Day” project. One day or two days in a week, the street will be car free so that people will be inspired to use public transport.

In conclusion, in my opinion, to save time and to have a comfortable journey, people are using cars and government could change the situation by introducing projects like “Yearly Income Tax Remission”, “Car Free Day”.