Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Electronic Communication undoubtedly has made a vast effect on manual writing letters. However, I do not agree with the statement that modern communication has completely eliminated manual writing letters and no longer in use.

Many organizations are now using different ways for communication. For example, for internal communication intranet has been introduced while for external communication e-mails, podcast have been introduced. These different ways of communication help the environment by reducing the use of papers and stationary in other words saving the trees and make the more friendly environment to live in.

However, despite the fact that electronic communication help environment to grow healthy, there are some circumstances which are unavoidable for paper writing letters. For instance, multi-nation organizations have many suppliers, not every supplier use the electronic facility and still believe in paper writing letters for correspondence. Other than that it is important for any organization to keep the letters in manual form along with the electronic form specifically which are more confidential and more important. This is necessary because if system is crashed or if any virus is being attacked on your system- disaster.

I believe that electronic devices have potential to outnumbered the manual writing letters and make their lives more easier and better. However, relying on electronic system completely need to have strong back-up and every individual should have a know-how about operating such system.