Modern technology has a great impact on our environment. Some say that people should adopt a simple lifestyle to solve this problem, while others argue that the technology itself should provide a solution.

The fast-emerging technology in this era has exerted a profound influence on our living environment. The question of whether opting for a simpler life is deemed as a viable solution to address environmental issues or not is now a matter of considerable public concern. From my perspective, we are taking technical advancement as an excuse to blame for playing havoc to our environment; for me, it is human race who makes a decision on its effect on our surroundings.

On the one hand, it is argued by some that a simple life is a highly recommended resolution towards an issue of environmental degradation caused by having been overwhelmingly dependent on technology. The concept of pursuing a simple lifestyle varies from people to people. For many, it is believed that a simple life merely means that people ought to have a mitigation plan on managing their technology dependency. A handful of people hold a belief that the thrive of technology has resulted in the fast-paced growth of industry, especially smokestack industries which can damage environment. Indeed, the development of heavy industries such as iron or steelworks can allow the factories in this sector to spew a considerable amount of exhaust fumes into air, which either directly or indirectly affects environment as well as people’s health. Therefore, following a simple life can favor a brighter future image of a world where people alleviate their suffer from environmental problems.

However, those who are dissenters towards such a view and I are inclined to the idea that technology itself can be successful in ecosystem as long as it is intentionally designed to fit the natural system. Apparently, the advent of technical advancement appears to serve human’s purpose. To tackle different concerns emerging in lives, people have been coming up with various inventions and consistently enhancing them to satiate their desires. In fact, whether people consciously make use of technology would determine its effect on their living environment. For example, when a country uses cutting-edged technology to spur its farm productivity, the farming land may confront a matter of impoverishment. Reversely, the result will be different if using technical advances is under strict surveillance with the matter of building material and frequency carefully taken into account.

In conclusion, technology is a double-edged sword. From my point of view, I would reckon that human race plays a main role in deciding its influence on living environment.