More houses are needed in many countries to cope with increasing populations.

Would it be better to build houses in existing towns and cities, or to develop new towns in rural areas?

The demand for houses has increased rapidly these days, due to the significant growth of the world population. Some people think that it is better for property developers to build more houses in existing cities, while others believe that it would be better to build new areas. The following essay will discuss both arguments in details.

It is a fact that the world population has grown rapidly nowadays which increased the demand for housing. It is believed that building more houses in the existing town is better than to expand to new areas. As most workplaces are located in cities surrounding, it would be better for residents to have accommodation which is located near to their work. However, many people do not realise that building more properties in the town means that the city would become denser and traffic congestion would become worst. As a result, air pollution become worst and it distracts the health condition of the residents.

On the other hand, developing new housing areas bring a lot of benefits for the people. Firstly, new towns or cities have a lower property price than those who are located in the city centre, therefore more people could own a house. Secondly, as some of the cities' people move to new towns, it would gradually reduce the density, air pollution and traffic problems in the cities themselves. Thirdly, by developing rural areas, it would develop the economic growth of the rural areas themselves, as there will be new commercial areas and new workplaces as well.

In conclusion, it is obvious that the demand for properties has risen due to the increase of the world population. To cope with the issue, people could build more houses in existing cities or develop new towns. I personally believe that building and developing new areas is better than building new houses in the existing towns.