Nowadays children spend more time playing computer games than doing sports. Why is it happening? Does it have a positive or negative effect on their development?

These days, as we embrace the computer age, nothing would stop the daily lives of young people from engaging to electronic games rather than involving into physical activities. How true is that? In this essay, I am going to layout my views on this topic as well as the possible positive and negative influences that might affect one's development.

We all know that 20 years ago, computers have just starting to evade our lives. Computers was then a luxury, expensive and for rich only. But now it is everywhere, for the reason that it is already cheap and not only a necessity but also an accessory. Nowadays, during free time children would prefer to hold a certain gadget instead of performing an outdoor activity. They would rather prefer to play sports games on their cellphones, Xbox, PlayStations (a few to mention), rather than doing it physically. This is because computer games are very entertaining, fun and easy to use. But this should be taken partly as a positive development because when children spend a long period of time playing games on their computer, they will develop many health problems (headache, back pains) as well as behavioral problems (addictiveness, laziness). This will also make them less visible to social activities. Outdoor games are good for children for it will make them fit and stronger. Study reveals that children who play sports are healthier than those who don't. Better still, outdoor games require the participation of more than one individual. When children play games like basketball or football, they also learn several skills as they learn to share and work as a team.

As a recap, it is not hard to see that there are greater benefits in sports activities than playing computer games. And playing computer games is not totally bad. You should use it at the right place and at the right time.