Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games.

What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

The revenue of the computer game company has been blooming since the last decade, gaining the insight of the increasing number of the game players. It is believable that, among these players,

the children contribute large proportion, leading to a special concern about the negative impact of the computer games toward them. In this essay, we will focus on the demerits along with some suggestions.

The major concern for children playing computer games relates to the side effect of their physical body and social skill development. Firstly, the children sitting whole day in front of computer playing game does not involve any muscular movement, leading to weaken their physical body. Another side effect is regarded as their social skill development. Again, the children who are facing computer game whole day cannot develop a proper communication skill because they are lacking of human interaction. The children will usually mature into introvert finally. From these two points of view, playing computer game indeed has detrimental effects on the children. Therefore, some actions must be taken to tackle the problems.

Both the game developer and their parent play a crucial role to relieve the problem. For the game developer, they can introduce the child protective measure inside the game. For example, if the game is playing over 2 hours, the game play will automatically stop and alert the player with warning message. In addition, the parent are also responsible to their child by taking them out of the computer. For example, they can bring their child to park or play some sports with them, allowing them to have more physical movement as well as more human interaction.

To sum up, children playing computer game do hinder their development of physical body and social skill. As suggested above, some measures must be taken accordingly in order to minimize the negative effect. Personally speaking, there is common adage which says that our children is our master of further society. Hence, we should by all mean protect our children health so as to guarantee the health of future society.