Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening?

what can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The rate of producing waste has gone almost double in last few decades. The increasing number of waste has been one of the the major issues these days. There are multiple reasons behind producing more rubbish. To stop this activity, government need to make some robust move.

The reason behind producing more waste is increasing level of consumption of disposal goods and also increasing number of preservative items. First, many people nowadays prefer to consume goods contain in disposable container because it is easy to discard after using the main ingredient. For example, when we visit any restaurant, the waiter serve us with mineral water which comes in a plastic bottle. After consumption of water, the bottle face the route of thrash bin. People brutally waste the bottles while knowing the consequences of their act. This practice create more rubbish every year all over the word and causing many negative repercussions for the whole globe. Secondly, reason is people prefer buying preservative food rather cook and eat fresh. These preservative items comes with multiple packaging. When anyone buy these goods and come home and unpack these eatables, they often encounter multiple packages. This is very important step to keep the food away from being rotten. However, we forget to keep in mind that such safety of food is unhealthy for the environment because these packaging ultimately turn into thrash and hence increase the volume of thrash each day.

The governments of all the countries need to be very strict. Firstly, they need to regulate rules and regulations of companies manufacturing such items that create thrash. If any of the company disobey or break the rules, heavy penalties need to be imposed on them. Other than being strict, the open campaign for everyone should be initiated in which everyone should be invited to learn about the negative effects of producing waste. For instance, in Kigali, Rwanda, the government has launched a program in which the government encourage the citizens to clean the streets once a month. Such programs can definitely bring enormous change in people's attitude towards producing waste.

All in all, producing waste is a sensitive issue and combating this problem is sensitive and as well as complex. However, government can bring changes to this habit by educating people and if necessary, sentence punishment to anyone whoever break the rules.