The number of old people around the world is increasing dramatically.

Could this have more positive or negative effects on society? or…

Do the advantages of the trend outweigh the disadvantages? or…

Is this a positive development?

The rapid development of technology has prolonged people's life than ever before, leading to the discussion about the effects on society coming from these ageing populations. Some peoples, especially working adults, keep a negative attitude toward these elderly while others believe that they can influence our society in beneficial way. Whilst both sides do have compelling arguments, I believe that the advantages is outweighed the disadvantages.

Undoubtedly, these old peoples are not appealing to society in term of financial point of view. Generally speaking, healthcare, accommodation and transportation are the major concern among the elderly. All of these will exaggerate the financial pressure on society as government has to allocate extra budget to cater their needs and extra tax will be inevitably added on the young working adults. This also reveal why the working adults are not fond of this change.

However, contrary to extra burden added on the society, this ageing group can practically give back to it. Deliberately thinking back why the old people is increasing, it is because the elderly is healthier than in the past and are able to continue their work after retirement age. Like the case in Hong Kong, the retirement age has long been postponed from 60 to 65, thus allowing this working group to continue generating revenue to the city.

In traditional Chinese society, there is a adage saying that the elderly is a treasure to the family. The visceral understand of this proverb is that we should cherish our elderly and their knowledgeable experience is extremely useful to all of us. Government and school should work with local community and invite them to share their experience to our young generation so as to keep their knowledge into our offspring.

Admittedly, the elderly indeed have some side effect on society. However, their positive side can certainly compensate or even more their negative side. Personally speaking, our elderly contribute their life to create the society we currently have. Hence, this is our responsibility and obligation to take care of them.