The number of older people is increasing in many parts of the world what are the effects of this on society as a whole? What are the advantages or disadvantage of this trend?

There is no iota of doubt that counting of grey-haired people is escalating. This phenomenon is offering manifold benefits to society; however, sometimes a couple of problems emerge due to the same. The following paragraphs would cast light on the pros and cons of this trend.

To begin with the bright side, older persons are the torchbearers who play an interactive role in building the successful career of youth. Therefore, the first and the foremost benefit can be considered; the older ones can guide teenagers - who lead astray from the moral path - by imparting the astonishing illustrations from their survival path. Apart from this, the elder ones not only have knowledge about culture, religion as well as a tradition but also have experienced to preserve relationships between family members and experience; how to save money. Therefore, they can become a good leader of society as well as the country. To justify, The prime minister of India ‘ Manmohan Singh’ ( age 70) had tackled the problem of finance in his period of service time, when the country is reeling under the adverse situation of economic. As a consequence, older ones are the backbone of our society.

On the flip side of the coin, there are some nasty consequences as well. Firstly, the health of aging persons is decreasing day by day. Due to the government’s new rule(in 2010, India) of curbing the pension of retired persons, there is no earning resource for themselves. Additionally, for a healthy diet and medicine ( routine checkup) they need money; whereas, if there is merely one earning hand in the family, then how could complete all the expenses. Consequently, such style of living, impose a burden on the family, as well as, in term of looking after elders, needs much time of youngsters; which creates the problem between families and such trend resort to reduce affection and bond among them.

To recapitulate, with the given aforementioned plausible arguments, it is abduntaly clear that merits outnumber the demerits; however, efforts should be made to minimize the latter one because without the support of older persons, to survive within society would become difficult especially for juveniles.