The number of people who are interested in wearing fashionable clothes is increasing.

Is this a positive or negative development?

In the last few decades, fashion trend has changed a lot. There is a tremendous increase in the count of individuals who prefer to wear designer clothes. Strata of the populace believe that it is a negative development as these big brands exploit human resources. Contrarily, opponent deems it to be a positive development, even, I believe it is positive growth.

To begin with, firstly, people have become a fashion freak because they have enough disposable income through which they express themselves as fashion conscious. Nowadays, a person is recognized by his attire instead of knowledge or study. To describe in other words, clothes are a vestige of financial status. Apart from this, they try to imitate fashion symbols such as celebrities, popular personality in order to look like them. For instance, the survey done by “The Times” reveals that 79 percent of people accept that they wear clothes in order to enhance their personality and dominate others.

However, some people believe that it is a negative development because the workers in the fashion industry are not treated well and get a very low income. Even though, I believe it is a positive development because directly or indirectly the fashion industry generates huge revenue for the government which is later used for providing services to the people. Additionally, it also provides employment to the number of people and assists in decreasing the unemployment rate of the area. Furthermore, some industries also teach people some skills and train them in a particular area which makes them self-dependent and self-reliant and makes an impression on others that education is an indispensable part of human life. For instance, it is noticed that around 67 percent of fashion companies appoint local people for the company and arrange training for them before their actual joining.

To conclude, being fashionable has become an important aspect in order to represent societal status and for enhancing looks. This love for fashion has increased employment opportunities and made people self-dependent.