Over population of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Hong Kong is well known as world class city, but also known as world most crowded place. Such a tiny area already has 700 million peoples living. During 2003, attributed with the most sorrowful year among all peoples in Hong Kong, severe atypical respiratory symptom was widely outspreading in the city, causing one thousand peoples inflected and more than one hundred peoples die. Although the outbreak of the disease has been erased, it has brought a special concern on the problem of over population. In this essay, we will identify the major issue caused by overcrowding along with some suggestions.

As stated in the introduction, the most serious problem of overcrowding is the ease of disease transmission. For many kind of epidemic diseases, only a droplet of cough and sneeze from the inflected person is enough to spread into others. Hence, people living in high population area will certainly have higher chance of getting inflected. That is the reason why the serve atypical respiratory symptom widely inflected many people within short period of time in Hong Kong.

There are several measures for the government and the public to tackle these issues. For the government, all necessary resources, such as financial or material support, should be allocated to the hygiene department to further improve our healthcare system as they are the first gateway to protect our health. The resources can be used to develop a better broadcast channel to the citizens so that they can state alert on any new disease spreading out. For the public, individual should keep a high standard on personal hygiene and wear mask if feeling unwell to avoid inflecting to others.

As a Hong Kong's citizen, the experience we learn from year of 2003 is extremely costly. There are many metropolises like Hong Kong with overcrowded population. The governments of these areas must take extra precautions in order to avoid the tragedy happened again.