The ownership of cars should be one per family in order to reduce traffic congestion and pollution.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, humans' overreliance on car usage is arguably the main cause of traffic congestion and the degradation of air quality. However, it is argued that to reverse the situation, each family should only own one private vehicle. I agree with this opinion in some ways. The following paragraphs will discuss the opinion and my perception.

It is reasonable to believe that the restriction on the number of cars owned by each family plays a significant role in mitigating the problems of air pollution and traffic jams. First of all, the limitation contributes to reducing the number of running cars on the road, and a growing number of citizens are encouraged to take public transports to the destination. Therefore, the total amount of car exhaust will drastically decline. Besides, this restriction is able to increase the popularity of cycling, and more citizens will develop a tendency to bike to the destination, which is also consistent with the universal principle of promoting environmental-friendly transport modes.

On the other hand, some people believe that the limitation will also bring about a series of issues. In the first place, it posts various inconveniences on most residents. For instance, many people who live in rural area or countryside will find it difficult to reach their workplaces or schools, as the public transport system in many cities is poor and incapable of meeting the needs of citizens. As a consequence, those people will spend an excessive amount of time merely on commuting. Additionally, the vast majority of families includes more than 4 members. Therefore, it is impossible to utilize only one vehicle to carry them.

In my opinion, it is worth mentioning that the limitation on the ownership of private vehicle per family could minimize people's reliance on car use, thereby enhancing traffic and easing the problem of pollution. Overall, I believe that it is an appropriate approach. However, we should also concern about the inconveniences caused by this control.