People should work a fixed number of hours per week, and employers should not ask anybody to work more than this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

I agree with the statement that working hours should be fixed per week and an employee should not be asked to do any more work than these fixed hours. Work-life balance is required in life of each individual. Working hours are stipulated so that personnel works for those stipulated hours each week and manage their family and other priorities accordingly.

Working hours of 9 to 5 and five days a week are set after thorough research. These are optimum number of hours that an individual can work efficiently and effectively during a week. Human body requires rest and person also have to take care of other priorities like family, kids as well as need to maintain a social life as well. Having a set number of hours per week would enable a him/her to maintain a daily routine and plan their work and other needs accordingly.

Now developed nations are also emphasizing on following fixed number of hours for employees. Recently few of the developed countries have passed a law that no employer is allowed to ask their staff to work overtime. Germany has also implemented that Boss cannot even call his/her subordinate worker after working hours or on weekends. World too is now focusing on having fixed number of hours.

I would like to elaborate through my own example. I have fixed number of hours per week i.e. 40 hours. However, in past, due to influx of new projects, my employer used to ask me and my team to work overtime to finish the projects. I had noticed that working extended hours deteriorated performance of my subordinates as well as they started making up excuses to take days off or some started coming to office late in the morning with excuses that they were not be able to wake up in the morning as they were working late. On fixing working hours, this problem vanished.

I would thus conclude through my experience & global research that there should be fixed working hours for employees and they should not be bothered outside of their work timings. This will not only make them punctual, but will also increase their performance on job.