People who travel to another country to live work or study for a period of time often suffer from homesickness.

Why is this?

What are the best ways to reduce this problem?

Travel is inevitably set to play an increasingly important role in our lives. Although it encompasses a multitude of advantages, it has some disadvantages, of which feel homesick is the most apparent. Hence, a question arises why do travelers become homesick? And how to ameliorate it?

First, homesickness occurs due to several reasons. Longing for the home country is the major cause. To enumerate, when migrants move to a new country, they experience different customs and conditions, so that their perception is less likely to accept the new culture. Moreover, missing families, as well as friends, could trigger negative thoughts, which lead to feeling solitary. For example, if expatriates have a predilection for having a dinner in a restaurant, the emotions of alienation will be provoked. As a result, by staying at length of time in another country, expatriates will experience homesickness.

Second, to ameliorate this problem, several solutions can be followed. One of these ways is reducing negative thoughts. For instance, by learning the language of the designated country, the travelers will most probably blend with the local citizens, which assists them to earn new friends. Thus, favorable thoughts can be decreased, so that homesickness might be alleviated. Moreover, when people are going to another country, can learn about its culture, in order to adapt rapidly, because this contributes to relish their times there. Therefore, they are less likely to miss their country. So that their homesickness might be mitigated.

In conclusion, whilst travel embrace a wide range of benefits, its drawbacks cannot be overlooked, of which home is sickness is the most notable. Yet, learning the language of the country when travelers are staying aids them to overcome the homesickness.