A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons

The 20th Century has brought some immense changes in humans lives such as technology advancements, changes in living standards and many more. Likewise, the perceptions of judgment has also affected tremendously and people are now giving priority to somebody who has more wealth or material ownership over the traditional values. I also agree this statement and will provide the reasons and illustrations to support my opinion.

First of all, people nowadays are calling themselves more sensible than the old generation because they think twice before taking any decision. For instance, in the past relations were built up on pure love, affection and attraction. These old school people used to spent their entire life based on these assumptions. However, the current era people do not fall for such thoughts as according to them these are the secondary concerns. The important thing that matter is to ensure if the person is well-settled or have reputed financial background regardless that how such money has been earned. They also consider to live at some place where their social status would not be compromised or have expensive outfits to show their living lifestyles. The values of feelings have been completely buried somewhere down under and almost seems impossible to restore.

To speak further, we have many examples in front of us where the famous personalities have given their whole lives for the humanity. One of the famous personality Dalai Lama who was popular because of his generous spirit and observations such as “my religion is kindness.” Likewise, the generous spirit of South African Anglican Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu is reflected in the belief that we are each made for goodness. Surely kindness and goodness are the marks of a courageous life.These surely reflects the importance of preserving these values which unfortunately is now missing from this world.

To elucidate, it is a basic right of every human being to have a high standards of living and to enjoy every moment of their lives. However, these needs should not be stepped up over the traditions. We as humans are responsible to keep this humanity going at pace and must keep it alive until we breath.