The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extend do you agree?

Most of the people live with the mantra “prevention is better than cure” therefore, some people reckon that preventing health issues and diseases is crucial than treating them with medication and hence, the government should allocate an apt budget for it. This essay fervently agrees with the notion and reasons are explained in the consequent paragraphs.

To begin with, adequate money should be disbursed by the government to promote the prevention methods as it can encourage people to a healthy life. In other terms, this will impinge on an individual to live a healthy life and also act as a shot in the arm, to prevent him from indulging in the wrong habits such as eating junk foods or taking any kind of drugs. Nonetheless, individual efforts alone will not be able to give the desired results, hence, the government should invest in highlighting the advantage of a healthy lifestyle by launching health awareness crusades.

Furthermore, these gestures of the government towards highlighting the benefits of prevention can help people save a lot of money on medical expenses. This step will make people tell the vestige of the diseases which in turn, dampen the tendency of people to fall ill. In short, this will succor in saving money. For instance, there is a 20 percent downturn in the sale of tobacco and cigarettes in India, after the government has launched a campaign on major bus stand and railway stations and advertisement on the packet of the same highlighting the repercussion on health. This influenced people to utilize the money to save their health instead of wasting on adopting ill habits which will later need to be cured.

To conclude, I strongly agree that the higher authorities should spend more money on encouraging the prevention of the diseases as it will help people stay safe as well as save money.