By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing

murder. Therefore, life in prison Is a better punishment for murderers.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Taking life forcibly from another human being is, undoubtedly, a heinous crime. One who committed this offence, has no right to live among the society.

However, punishing every murderer with death sentence is also not advisable and can be left with prison sentence.

Firstly, murderers influenced by terrorism , extremism or radicalism. These murderers intend to kill maximum number of people and they think least about human suffering and consequences to the families that are affected. Society will have no guilty feeling to punish them with death penalty.

A recent incident in India backs this theory up. During attacks on Indian city Mumbai, police caught a terrorist who participated in the attack. However, government has delayed many years to hang him down. This brought lot of criticism on the system which delays the punishment.

It has been proven in this case that prison sentence is merely a punishment. These murderers,often with their influence, can get all the amenities to their prison room.

Secondly, there are murderers who commit the murder with an intention or motivation. The number of victims chosen by this type of criminals are often less in number .In order to execute the plan successfully they rehearse and visit the spot multiple times hence it is called preplanned murder, supreme punishment can be given to this type of criminals.

There are murders who commit the crime without any intention, this often happens by accident. Another murder type which falls into this category is one commits the crime to save others. These murders should not be dealt with highest punishment and can be left with prison sentence.

All in all, It is the nature of the murder that decides if a murderer can be punished with death penalty or not. Society won't feel guilty on cruel killings of innocent people.