As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people traveling, there is a growing demand for more flights. What problems does this have on the environment? What measures could be taken to solve the problems?

In recent decades, the tourism industry has expanded inevitably which is attributed to the internet and globalization. People use to travel around the world in order to widen their knowledge horizons which, in turn leads to increase in the number of flights and these are causing a devastating effect on the environment. This essay will discuss the problems and also suggest the solutions which can be taken to resolve it.

To begin with, firstly, the rise in the number of flights has increased the emission of carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide. The high jet at high altitude tends to produce global warming effect and the ramp-up in the air travel is like a shot in the arm in carbon gases in the atmosphere which consequently, affects the ozone layer of the earth which as a protector for the earth from ultraviolet rays which cause various skin diseases to humans. Furthermore, this has not affected the humans but also the migration of birds. Due to high traffic in the air and low visibility most of the birds get hit by the plane and which results in lowering down the number of the birds in the sky. For instance, as per the survey at the University of Melbourne, there is a 60 percent increase in the carbon gases in the atmosphere after the evolution of planes, and 52 percent of birds are hit by plane during their flight.

There are some possible solutions to this problem such as the government should impose a steep tax on the flight and improved the public road transport and railways which can handle the more amount of passengers and need to be punctual. Apart from this, the government should have awareness campaigns defining the damages which these flights have on the environment and encourage them to use the mean of transport which pollute the environment less.

To conclude, the raise in the travel has led to various problem which impacts the ecosystem of the earth by posing a threat to the ozone layer and birds. However, this can be sort by using other means of transportation system and making people aware of environmental issues caused by them.