School children are becoming far more dependent on computers. This is having an alarming effect on reading and writing skills. Teachers need to avoid using computer in classrooms at all costs and go back to teaching basic study skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

The reading and writing dexterities have been drastically impacted, owing to the over-dependency of teenagers on computers, therefore, some reckoned that the teachers should completely abandon the use of computers and adapt the old traditional method of teaching at any cost. This essay in disagreement with the statement and reasons are explained in the consequent paragraph.

Firstly, schools nowadays smart schools with smart classes. These smart classes enable teachers to teach the student with the use of technology which has increased the interest of the student in the subject. After the theoretical aspect tutors explain the topic practically using the computer and give them three-dimensional examples which in return increase the understandability of the students. This new technology has improved the strength of the classes. For instance, recent research has shown that the changes made in the schools have increased the interest of the student in school by 75%.

These computers have increased the efficiency of the work. Earlier students needed to make assignments using ball pens and sheets but now it has become outdated because they take huge time to write and check because of low readability, however, nowadays accuracy is more important than writing skills as software like Grammarly can be installed in Microsoft word for grammar checking. Recent research has shown that with the advent of the technology the homework has become easy and accuracy has also increased to 80%.

Furthermore, they act as a time saver and also helping hand for the student. One can complete the work in the time because they can research the data on the topic from the internet and can easily copy-paste the same, need not brainstorm and waste the time thinking for a long time. In fact, they need to curtail the long information into short as per the requirement which means they need to count the words which are difficult in paper writing but while computer it counters the words by itself.

To conclude, in my opinion going back to the old methodology of teaching is not the solution because computers have increased curiosity among the pupils in subjects and school, additionally, improved the accuracy and efficiency of the work.