Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks.

Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that, social media became a significant part of life’s. Although the personal information shared on social media is at risk, this has not stopped it from becoming popular among all age groups. This essay will discuss the positive and negative aspects of social media.

To embark on, with regards to advantages, one of the prominent advantage is that it has made communication easier and cost-effective. Earlier we had to pay call charges, but with the invent of social media not only audio but we can also make video calls for free. For example, WhatsApp is mostly used by people to send instant messages, make audio/video calls to their acquaintances living across the globe. Secondly, social media has changed the way how the information can be shared within minutes with everyone around the world.

On the other hand, certain disadvantages of social media like risk of personal information being leaked cannot be ignored. The personal details which we enter during registration/signup to an app, can be hacked and used by unethical hackers to demand ransom from the individuals/institutions. Moreover, these people can also get access to our bank accounts through this information. There is also risk of children being exposed to adult content, cyber bullying on social websites. Excessive use of social media is also leading to social isolation among people.

In conclusion, as long as people are aware on how much information be shared on sites, advantages of social media like cost effective communication, sharing of information easier outweigh the disadvantages.