Some believe that advances in technology are increasing the gap between rich and poor while others
think the opposite is happening.
Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.
People have different opinions whether the technological progress is contributing to widening the
gap between affluent and poverty-stricken or not. Although some believe that it has deepen the
divide, I personally opine that technology has offered more earning opportunities to economically
weak section to improve their living conditions.
On the one hand, there are those who support the idea that as technology is progressing, rich is
becoming richer whereas poor is being poorer. In other words, impoverished class is likely to lose
their jobs because of advancements in technology. Automation may cause loss of many unskilled
labours in household as well as factories. At household level, countless families, for instance,
probably favour the use of automatic machines, such as dishwasher, washing machine, and vacuum
cleaner as opposed to employing a maid to get the household chores done. They find these
technology-driven gadgets cost-effective in the long-run which can be conveniently used at the
disposal of user whereas one has to be dependent in case of a maid. Therefore, it is apparent why
they find the gap between the two classes, rich and poor, is increasing.
Despite the above arguments, I firmly believe that technological improvements have been creating
many earning opportunities for underprivileged. Indeed, not all work can be completed by a
machine no matter how advanced it is. People who are at work most of the time, need helpers to
operate these modern gadgets as these cannot function on their own. Job loss due to progress in
technology is a short-sighted view. As a result of improvement in technology, applications like Ola
and Uber has made it possible for drivers to serve to a greater customer base and therefore have
bright prospects to be economically sound. Needless to say, this could have been possible only
because of progression in technology.
In conclusion, some might argue that technology is giving rise to job loss resulting into increasing