Some believe that it is good for a country’s culture to import films and TV programs, while others think it is better for a country to have their own films and TV programs. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a different opinion about the merits of foreign movies and TV shows to a culture of a country as some people believe local products could be better. I think while domestic entertaining programs are preferable instead of importing exotic ones, educational TV programs could be beneficial for everyone, no matter where they provided.

Cultural diversity could be one of the major side effects on host countries, caused by foreign movies and TV shows. These kinds of programs can contribute to impose western culture which is the main worry in local societies. Some unacceptable social behavior and actions like carrying guns by youngsters or performing violence actions in front of the camera, could be an obvious example of mentioned side effects. In comparison with these programs, educational ones are quite impressive and could be beneficial for audiences in any groups. Some environmentally friendly shows like BBC Earth could benefit both host and foreign countries.

On the other side, providing domestic TV products would be more fruitful for local people in some cases. They can acquire knowledge about their own culture through these TV programs and movies. Broadcasting programs are a deniable opportunity provided for local authorities to demonstrate their desirable content which could be about their long-standing ethics. In addition, it can relieve the worry of cultural assimilation, one of the main consequences of cultural diversity. No need to mention that if foreign practice is absorbed thoughtlessly, it might lead to the cultural anomie.

In overall, I believe foreign movies and shows might be a two-edged sword and have both merits and demerits. Although exotic educational TV programs could be presented to any countries due to their positive aspects, other products such as TV shows are less acceptable in some countries.