Some businesses prohibit smoking in any of their offices. Some governments have banned smoking in all public places. Do you agree or disagree that this is the right course of action? Give reasons for your opinion.

Smoking has become a burning issue in the entire world. Some people think that it should be restricted in offices and public places. Whereas, many refute this and proclaims that prohibiting smoking is not the ultimate solution. Both sides of this debate will be analyzed before drawing conclusion.

On the one hand, Smoking is really harmful and injurious to health for both active and passive smokers. In addition, it has been proved in recent medical reports/finding of WHO that passive smoking is even more devastating than active smoking. So it can be argued that smoking in public place and offices could harm the other people around as well. Resultantly, the governments should take care of those who do not smoke but gets affected and the only solution is to ban the public smoking. Moreover, smoking is against the official and corporate norms of service industries. Obviously, it creates pollution as well as smell, which ultimately gives a shabby look to the office and would affect customer services.

On the other hand, smokers are human beings as well and posing restrictions on smoking is actually disrespect for them. Furthermore, cigarettes usually contain nicotine, which enters into the blood of a human being and becomes part of it. So, the addicted people could not survive or work efficiently without it and restrictions on smoking could also affect their health. Moreover, tobacco is one of the leading industries around the globe. It provides employment to thousands of people and earns billions of profit as well as millions of dollars are paid in the form of taxes to the governments. If restrictions are based on smoking, it would ultimately affect this industry.

In summation, it my opinion smoking should be banned in public places as well as offices. But there has to be separate smoking places for smokers to accomplish their taste without hurting other people.